How to Start the Whole30: What is It? What Can I Eat? + Recipes!

23 Mar

KateUpdates Three Rules

It’s time to get down and dirty … It’s time for the Whole30!

Or, “Dirty 30,” which is what I’m calling this next Whole30 adventure that begins Monday. There’s a group of us getting ready to take the plunge for the first or second time and … it’s going to ROCK. I’m excited!

My first Whole30 experience was back in August and it was amazing. I want to encourage you to join me on this next challenge and this post is going to provide you with the tools you need to change your body and mind forever. Remember, if you choose to do this, it is your CHOICE. You are not being restricted. It’s not something you HAVE to do. Instead, you are choosing to treat your body well and reap amazing health benefits for your mind and body. You may even lose some pounds along the way 🙂

So … Are you ready? The choice is yours. I hope you choose to join us. It’s just 30 days.

What is the Whole30?

Read the official description here.

What can I eat?

Simply put, you can eat: veggies, meat, seafood, fruit, nuts, seeds and healthy oils.  Focus on foods that are completely unprocessed or have only a few ingredients to help ensure you’re making the right choices. Have a question regarding whether an ingredient is Whole30 approved? See the full list here or check the Whole9Life forum here or do a quick Google search.

AVOID

  • Sugars of all kinds
  • Alcohol/ Tobacco
  • Grains
  • Dairy
  • Legumes
  • Carrageenan, MSG or sulfites
  • White potatoes

Resources

  • Check out my video on Whole30 kitchen essentials to help you with your grocery shopping.
  • Here’s a shopping list you can use as a guide from Whole9Life
  • You can buy Whole30 guide, “It Starts with Food,” here.
  • Here’s a list of meal planning resources.
  • and see what other cookbooks I recommend here.
  • Like and visit my Facebook page for daily updates, ideas and inspiration
  • You can sign-up to receive daily emails to guide you through your journey

Meal Planning

Here are some Whole30 Approved breakfast and lunch/dinner ideas to get you started.

Breakfast

Lunch / Dinner

I will be sharing more recipe ideas as we go along and feel free to share your favorite Whole30 approved recipes as well. Let’s DO THIS!

~ Kate

11 Responses to “How to Start the Whole30: What is It? What Can I Eat? + Recipes!”

  1. Melissa Hartwig March 23, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

    Just one correction – baked goods and treats (like those Paleo pancakes you mention above) are never allowed on the Whole30, even if they are made with compliant ingredients. It’s one of the key rules of the Whole30 – no “Paleo-fied” baked goods or treats. Google “SWYPO” for more information.

    Best of luck,
    Melissa

    • KateFinley March 23, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, Melissa! And thanks for the note. I’ll remove it from my list. Thanks!

      • Hege Nes March 23, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

        Hi Kate!
        I intend to do the Whole 30 with you, I am actually on day 5 now, struggling a bit! I am reading labels while grocery shopping, and I was wondering about preservatives, it seems almost impossible to avoid it sometimes. Like bacon for instance, it always has something “extra” in it. Wish I could get my hands on spaghetti squash, have never seen anything like that around here. (I live in Norway)
        Made a wonderful meat/tomato sauce yesterday, it was delicious, could have eaten it every day! I put a teaspoon of red currypaste and a “dash” of fish sauce into it. That might have been wrong though.. Bought some sausages today, made only from pork, herbs and spices but they may not fit into the “program” because of the preservatives..? I have lots of these questions every day, including the need to just drop it, and go for milk and bread 😉

      • KateFinley March 25, 2013 at 10:26 am #

        Hi Hege,

        See if you can get all natural bacon – it usually doesn’t have nitrates. Yes, you want to stay far away from preservatives. Do you have other kinds of squash like butternut or acorn? You could do something with those. Or you could use a zucchini to make noodles.

        It can be tough to get the hang of it early on but you’ll get there. I highly suggest visiting the Whole9 forum and searching by keyword to help with questions about preservatives, etc. as they come up.

        I’m glad you’re choosing to do this and to drop the milk and bread — I know it’s hard. I’m in the same boat so we’ll get through it together!

  2. Tracy March 23, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

    I’m in, Kate! Coming home after two weeks on the road, in groups that were committed to 3 full meals a day, I’m a little afraid to step on the scale. Time to clean it up!!

    • KateFinley March 25, 2013 at 10:23 am #

      Awesome Tracy! I’m ready to rock this month and I’m glad you’re in it to win it too! 🙂

  3. Dawn Maloney March 25, 2013 at 1:32 pm #

    We are doing it again, too!! Roasted butternut squash, spaghetti squash and sweet potatoes and made mayo!! Woohoo!!

    • KateFinley March 25, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

      I need to make mayo … which recipe do you use? Well Fed?

      • Dawn Maloney March 25, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

        Yes. If you make sure the eggs sit till they are room temperature, it always works. Even if it “breaks” (doesn’t really thicken) you can still use it for salad dressing. Great stuff!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #Whole30 Day 1 Complete: Down ‘n Dirty | Kate Updates - March 25, 2013

    […] It’s not too late to join in and change your life (yes, I’m serious!) – just start tomorrow and adjust for 30 days. Read about the challenge here. […]

  2. The Tale of the Creepy Cookie … | Kate Updates - April 4, 2013

    […] as you may have heard, this month I’m doing the Whole30 (aka Dirty 30) for the second time since August ’12. It’s been really challenging but I feel like […]

Leave a comment

A Plate Full of Crazy

In the uphill sprint to 50, honey, it's just starting to get good.

Fat2Fit2Fabulous

Let the transformation begin!

Rise And Transform

A blog about personal transformation and fitness

Life In The Gym

A strange thing happened today...

Coriander Lime

preservative free creations & catering. general thoughts & ponderings a bonus. toronto, ontario.

Strive4Box5

Are you "Box 5" material? Let's get you there?

Katz Marketing Solutions' Brand Triumphs & Tragedies

Marketing Brilliance, Blunders, and Tips for Your Brand

Stories I Read, Stories I Tell

My blog of literature: craft, process, and review.

I Threw A Brick Through A Window

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Live Long and Yoga

A quest to find balance in life, love and asana - with a touch of geekiness

The In Fine Balance Food Blog

My Journey to Health

Katie's Coffee Cogitations

morning musings over coffee