Meet My Kitchen + My First Vlog!

1 Oct

Happy Monday!
So … I finally did it.

I am now ready to introduce you to my kitchen and share some of the items I consider essential to my Paleo lifestyle. There are some tips mixed in as well ๐Ÿ™‚

First, shout-out to my 30 Days of Fitness buddies~! The past few days have been so fun. It’s great to have a bunch of people joining together and keeping each other accountable. It’s definitely making me workout more and it’s awesome to hear how each of you are stretching yourselves daily. Also, it’s not too late for others to join in on the fun! Just read my post about it and visit my Facebook page to let us know that you’re in it to win it!

OK so first of all, after starting to really eat healthy and spend a LOT more time in the kitchen, Daniel decided to surprise me with the idea of redoing our kitchen. About a month ago we took a weekend and decided to give our kitchen a facelift. This is how the kitchen looked before:

And this is how it looked after a weekend of sleep deprivation, quick decisions and LOTS of hard work:

Eat your heart out, HGTV.

We pretty much felt like HGTV superstars after this remodel. Also, we were absolute zombies for Labor Day weekend. Ironically, this was the first weekend that I started the Whole30, so basically imagine working ridiculously hard and long hours, no kitchen to cook in and not giving in to pizza … Yeah. Kinda sucked.

Obviously, I made it through and finished the Whole30 and I even have a beautiful new kitchen to show for it … Not too shabby.

Which brings me to …

Bum-bah-da-dah!

A *video* walk through some of the items that I keep in my kitchen and consider essential to eating Paleo/healthy. I was going to write about this but I thought, why not try video? It sounded faster to me … It actually took about the same amount of time haha But it was fun to do!

Enjoy and please leave comments if something helped you or if you have questions.

Enjoy!
~ Kate

P.S. I’ll be sharing some recipes over the next couple days, including an easy and delectable dessert option.

8 Responses to “Meet My Kitchen + My First Vlog!”

  1. Julie October 1, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    Thank You so much for the video. I love to cook and get new ideas. And since doing the whole 30 day challenge i didnt think about there being a cookbook out there that had great recipes to follow for the diet!!! Thank you!!! Your kitchen looks cute by the way!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • KateUpdates October 2, 2012 at 7:03 am #

      Hi Julie!

      I highly recommend all three of those cookbooks. I’ll be experimenting with a “Slow Cooker” cookbook this fall and modifying the recipes to make them Paleo. Best of luck on your Whole30 and feel free to share your Twitter handle/blog so I can follow along with you …

      – Kate

  2. Lisa Gerber (@lisagerber) October 1, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    Hi Kate! I’m here from the Spin Sucks follow Friday and I’ve been curious about Paleo, specifically to improve my fitness level. Did your husband do it with you? I’m curious if its a hard program to do when the spouse doesn’t do it. My husband does all the cooking, but he uses whole foods so it would seem to me I’d just skip the grains. He rarely uses dairy. Would love to hear what you think. Also, the video rocks. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • KateUpdates October 2, 2012 at 7:02 am #

      Thanks for stopping by, Lisa! I suggest you start by doing the Whole30. It’s a bit stricter than eating Paleo but in my opinion, it’s the absolute best way to start. You’ll completely cleanse your body from foods that can negatively impact your health.

      No, sadly, Daniel still hasn’t given into Paleo ๐Ÿ™‚ He is eating healthier but not full on Paleo. It sounds like it wouldn’t be hard to modify what your husband is making. A couple words of advice:
      1) once you decide that you are doing this and doing it for YOU, what your husband eats will hardly impact your choice, 2) He may just make the change with you,
      3) I encourage you to experiment in the kitchen too … I bet you’ll really start to like it (I avoided cooking before the Whole30)

      Please keep my posted and thanks for following along. Glad you like the video!

      – Kate

      • kara October 2, 2012 at 8:45 am #

        super cute video! Thanks for the info- as always you are really helpful! It will be great for someone just starting to feel more comfortable with whole30 and/or paleo. Wooo!

      • KateUpdates October 3, 2012 at 7:50 am #

        Thanks, Kara! That was my goal. Let me know if you think another type of video would be helpful as well and I just might make it ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Dawn Maloney October 2, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    I really enjoyed this. I had already forgotten about olives after one week. I am about to watch it again and put together a staples list. Excellent video.

    • KateUpdates October 3, 2012 at 7:54 am #

      I think I just happened to have black olives in my cupboard when I started the Whole30 and that’s how I remembered them … glad I did! I don’t eat them as much now but it’s a good snacking or topping option.

      Thanks for watching ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment

A Plate Full of Crazy

In the uphill sprint to 50, honey, it's just starting to get good.

Fat2Fit2Fabulous

Let the transformation begin!

Rise And Transform

A blog about personal transformation and fitness

Life In The Gym

A strange thing happened today...

Coriander Lime

preservative free creations & catering. general thoughts & ponderings a bonus. toronto, ontario.

Strive4Box5

Are you "Box 5" material? Let's get you there?

Katz Marketing Solutions' Brand Triumphs & Tragedies

Marketing Brilliance, Blunders, and Tips for Your Brand

Stories I Read, Stories I Tell

My blog of literature: craft, process, and review.

I Threw A Brick Through A Window

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Live Long and Yoga

A quest to find balance in life, love and asana - with a touch of geekiness

The In Fine Balance Food Blog

My Journey to Health

Katie's Coffee Cogitations

morning musings over coffee